2013 Environmental Scorecard for the Oregon Legislature

SB 488

OCN Priority Bill
Clean Fuels Program

In 2009, the Legislature passed HB 2186, establishing a low carbon fuel standard that would reduce the carbon intensity of Oregon’s transportation fuels by 10% over 10 years. But, a sunset placed on the program has been a barrier to enactment. SB 488 would have lifted that sunset, allowing the program to move forward and creating up to 29,000 new jobs. We are grateful to Senator Lee Beyer for his leadership on this bill.

Because they are so important, SB 488, SB 838, and SB 692 - OCN's Priorities for a Healthy Oregon - are double-counted in the scores. HB 3162, equally important and part of an OLCV Special Focus on Toxics, is also double-counted in the scores.

Yes is the pro-environment vote.
Status: Died in Senate on 15-15 floor vote | Never made it to the House
*Senator Rosenbaum changed her yes vote to a no for procedural reasons. Her vote is counted as a yes.
pro-environment voteanti-environment voteabsent or excusedlegislator whose score is 90% or greater

About OLCV

The Oregon League of Conservation Voters is a non-partisan organization with a simple mission: to pass laws that protect Oregon's environmental legacy, elect pro-environment candidates to office, and hold all of our elected officials accountable.

For more information about OLCV, visit our website at olcv.org.

About the Scorecard

For more than 40 years, OLCV has protected Oregon's natural legacy. An essential part of our work is holding our elected officials accountable. The OLCV Environmental Scorecard is not only one of our most important accountability tools, but also a tradition. The first scorecard was published in 1973.

By sharing how each member of the Legislature voted on the most critical conservation bills, we help Oregonians understand whether legislators listened to their constituents, or if they listened to special interest groups instead. It also serves as a summary of environmental bills and includes special recognition of the legislative champions.