2013 Environmental Scorecard for the Oregon Legislature

SB 838

OCN Priority Bill
Suction Dredge Mining Limits

Following a dramatic increase in gold dredging in Southern Oregon’s pristine rivers, SB 838 will protect fish habitat and allow for other river uses by limiting the number of suction dredge mining permits available beginning in 2014. Meanwhile, the Legislature must adopt a comprehensive regulatory framework in 2015 or else a five year moratorium will be enacted. We are grateful to Senators Fred Girod, Arnie Roblan, and Bruce Starr for their help in finding a middle ground, and their support for the bill in spite of intense political pressure.

Because they are so important, SB 488, SB 838, and SB 692 - OCN's Priorities for a Healthy Oregon - are double-counted in the scores. HB 3162, equally important and part of an OLCV Special Focus on Toxics, is also double-counted in the scores.

Yes is the pro-environment vote.
Status: Passed the Senate 17-13 | Passed the House 33-27
pro-environment voteanti-environment voteabsent or excusedlegislator whose score is 90% or greater

About OLCV

The Oregon League of Conservation Voters is a non-partisan organization with a simple mission: to pass laws that protect Oregon's environmental legacy, elect pro-environment candidates to office, and hold all of our elected officials accountable.

For more information about OLCV, visit our website at olcv.org.

About the Scorecard

For more than 40 years, OLCV has protected Oregon's natural legacy. An essential part of our work is holding our elected officials accountable. The OLCV Environmental Scorecard is not only one of our most important accountability tools, but also a tradition. The first scorecard was published in 1973.

By sharing how each member of the Legislature voted on the most critical conservation bills, we help Oregonians understand whether legislators listened to their constituents, or if they listened to special interest groups instead. It also serves as a summary of environmental bills and includes special recognition of the legislative champions.